The Women of Temple Beth El is the
collective voice and strength of the women of Temple Beth El. 
For more than 100 years, we have offered women of all ages a variety of opportunities to become active participants in congregational life. 


The Women of Temple Beth El is an organization of women who come together for friendship, support, community, activism, learning and spiritual growth. The Women of Temple Beth El enhances our social bonds, builds our job skills, promotes our spiritual growth, and lets us relax and have fun! 

Join us! We welcome you at whatever level of involvement interests you. Whether you have plenty of free time or very little, your dues help Sisterhood fund our many programs and projects.

The pandemic doesn’t stop Sisterhood! Karen Lowen, Nancy Fortier, and Judy Roberts pass out lunch curbside before a virtual Nosh and Knowledge in February. 


The Sisterhood Temple Beth El supports community programs benefiting people in need by donating items, time and money.


Ronald McDonald House Dinners, Prom Dresses, Hat, gloves, socks, JCC Book Fair Author Sponsor, Chanukah Baskets and Dinners, Adopt a Family through Jewish Family Service, Provide Shabbat & High Holy Day services for seniors and Passover Baskets and Dinners.


For the International Community Sisterhood strengthens Reform Judaism around the world with financial support. Women of Reform Judaism and Yes Fund (Youth, Education, Scholarships for Reform Jewish Professionals).

Dues for membership in the Sisterhood of Temple Beth El and WRJ are your choice of $45, $54, $72, $90, or $180 per year.  Your choice of a higher membership rate means more support for our many programs. Your dues includes membership in Women of Reform Judaism and District dues.

Sisterhood of Temple Beth El Slate for 2020-2021


Co-Presidents:  Nancy Fortier and Karen Lowen

Administrative Vice President:  Michelle Lame

Vice President Membership:  Harriet Cooperman

Vice President Gift Shop:  Elaine Schonberger

Recording/Corresponding Secretary:  Carol Plisner

Treasurer:  Patricia Taylor

Immediate Past President:  Elaine Schonberger

Assigned Chairs

Nosh and Knowledge Chair: 

Nancy Fortier and Judy Roberts

Rosh Chodesh Chair:  Sue Green

Sunshine Chair:  Sandy Beigler

Board of Directors

Shelly Fogelman

Sue Goldsmith

Sue Green

Cindy Hecht

Harriet Hollander

Joanne Lax

Judy Martens

Suzy MacWilliams

Joyce Meckler Miller

Judy Pazol

Evelyn Prince

Judy Roberts

Cathy Segel

Irene Soble


Please note: Members of the Sisterhood of Temple Beth El 2020-2021 Board that do not need to be voted on are:

Advisor:  Cindy Bolokofsky

All Past Presidents who are still active members of Temple Beth El are permanent members of the Board of Directors

Proposed and submitted by the 2020 Nominating Committee:

Joanne Lax, Cathy Segel and Elaine Schonberger, Chair